Harrington Family Foundation Announces Its Eleventh Class of Scholarship Winners
2024 recipients of the Oregon Community Leadership Scholarship chosen

PORTLAND, Ore. — The Harrington Family Foundation (HFF) recently announced the recipients of its eleventh annual Oregon Community Leadership Scholarship. Four Oregon high school students from across the state were selected to receive a leadership focused scholarship totaling $20,000 over four years to attend an in-state university, college, or trade school.

“It is always an honor to spend time learning about our scholarship applicants, who reflect societal changes happening in our Oregon communities, and what the next generation will require of its local leaders. This generation of recipients has demonstrated incredible resiliency as they navigated a portion of their high school years in a global pandemic, and we know they are poised to transform the future of Oregon for the better,” said Joey Harrington, founder and president of the Harrington Family Foundation, former NFL quarterback.

This need-based scholarship focuses on an individual’s involvement their community, rather than academic or athletic performance. To be eligible for the scholarship, applicants must demonstrate leadership in their local community, achieve a high school diploma or GED, commit to attending an Oregon university, college or trade school, and demonstrate financial need. The scholarship program currently supports 16 scholarship recipients at $20,000 over four years and has 32 program graduates.

The Scholarship Advisory Committee selects scholarship recipients based on strong community leadership, financial need and ‘something special’ – where a student stands out among their peers. The scholarship application is open online to applicants from November to March of each academic year, and recipients are awarded by the first week of May. The 2025 scholarship application will be live on the Harrington Family Foundation website by November 1, 2024.

The Oregon Community Leadership Scholarship recipients are:

Juli Hernandez Botello, Tigard High School — Tigard, is a National Honor Society student who has demonstrated leadership as Tigard High School’s ASB Student Body President, Intercambio Mentor, Service Club Officer, Youth Grantmaking leader, Packed with Pride interpreter, and American Legion Award winner. As a bilingual first-generation college student, Juli has a passion for promoting diversity and inclusion in her community. Juli will study bioengineering at Oregon State University this fall.

Dima Ismael, Sam Barlow High School — Gresham, is an honors student who has a passion for addressing critical societal issues and making a positive impact on communities. Dima has demonstrated leadership on Youth Advisory Council, as Sam Barlow’s Speech and Debate Team President, Iraqi Young Leaders Exchange mentor, and tutoring Iraqi youth in English as a Coder Dojo volunteer. Dima will study sociology at University of Oregon and intends to earn her masters in law and criminology.

Jesus Moreno Rangel, Crescent Valley High School — Corvallis, is an honors student with a passion for increasing equitable access to infrastructure and economic prosperity in his community. As National Honor Society Chapter President, Cultural Appreciation Club Vice President, and Casa Latinos Unidos leader, Jesus was also awarded Corvallis’ Future First Citizen of the Year, and a Youth Empowerment bridge-building grant from the Corvallis Public Schools Foundation. Jesus will study construction engineering management at Oregon State University.

Jasmatae Whyte, South Medford High School — Medford, is a National Honor Society student who has demonstrated leadership as the Health Occupation Students of America President, South Medford High’s Key Club Secretary, Medford School District Diversity Equity Inclusion Student Representative, and Youth Leadership Advisory Board Panelist. Having earned the Oregon Biliteracy Seal, Jasmatae will pursue a degree in nursing and further developing her Spanish-speaking skills to help remove barriers to medical care. She will attend University of Portland this fall.

In addition to the scholarship, each recipient will have mentors throughout and following their schooling to help guide their path to a successful career and future.

Mentors include:

Chris Brown – Couture of Music, Acclaimed musician and educator

Josh Frankel – Principal + CFP, Ferguson Wellman Capital Management

Katie Hull – Public Relations, Wieden + Kennedy Alum

Ric Jeffries – Co-Owner and Golf Professional, RiverRidge Golf Complex

Katherine Kilkenny – PMHNP-BC, Portland Mental Health & Wellness

David Millman – Managing Director, Domaine Drouhin Oregon

Kimiko Matsudo – Director of Culture, Rose & Lincoln Founder/Owner

Justice Adrienne Nelson – Oregon Supreme Court Justice

Olivia Ong – Manufacturing Operations Manager, Intel

Jeff Paustian – Chief Executive Officer, JGP Wealth Management

Janae Sorenson – VP, Account Executive, Parker, Smith + Feek

About the Harrington Family Foundation

Established in 2002 by former NFL quarterback, Joey Harrington, the Harrington Family Foundation (HFF) has raised more than $2M for students across Oregon. Born and raised in Oregon, Joey believes investing in Oregon students dedicated to pursuing higher education ultimately invests in the state of Oregon. He recognizes leaders do not only exist on the athletic field or in front of a television camera. The Oregon Community Leadership Scholarship program is designed to encourage students who have shown a take-charge ability in their communities but may need help reaching their potential. For more information, visit www.harringtonfamilyfoundation.org.