Harrington Family Foundation Announces Its Tenth Class of Scholarship Winners
2023 recipients of the Oregon Community Leadership Scholarship chosen

PORTLAND, Ore. — The Harrington Family Foundation (HFF) recently announced the recipients of its tenth annual Oregon Community Leadership Scholarship. Four Oregon high school students from across the state were selected to receive a leadership focused scholarship totaling $20,000 over four years to attend an in-state university, college, or trade school.

“It is always an honor and privilege to spend time learning about our scholarship applicants, who reflect what their Oregon communities face on the daily, and what the next generation will require of its local leaders. Our 2023 recipients are driven, civic-minded, solution-oriented individuals, who we know will make a significant impact in the state,” said Joey Harrington, founder and president of the Harrington Family Foundation, former NFL quarterback.

This need-based scholarship focuses on an individual’s involvement in their community, rather than academic or athletic performance. To be eligible for the scholarship, applicants must demonstrate leadership in their local community, achieve a high school diploma or GED, commit to attending an Oregon university, college or trade school, and demonstrate financial need. The scholarship program currently supports 16 scholarship recipients at $20,000 over four years, and has 24 program graduates.

The Scholarship Advisory Committee selects scholarship recipients based on strong community leadership, financial need and ‘something special’ – where a student stands out among their peers. The scholarship application is open online to applicants from January to March of each academic year, and recipients are awarded by the first week of May. Due to changes with the 2024-25 FAFSA application, the Harrington Family Foundation 2024 scholarship application will be live on their website by January 1, 2024: harringtonfamilyfoundation.org.

The Oregon Community Leadership Scholarship recipients are:

Lesly Cortes-Hernandez, John F. Kennedy High School — Woodburn, is a National Honor Society student who has demonstrated leadership as the Founder and President of John F. Kennedy High School’s Teen Advisory Board, Future Business Leaders of America Vice President, and Chair for Habitat for Humanity. As a bilingual first-generation college student, Lesly will study nursing at the University of Portland. Lesly intends to obtain her doctorate in the medical field to better serve her local community.

Dex Dumore, Crater Renaissance Academy — Medford, is a National Honor Society student who has a passion for paramedicine and sustainable forestry. Dex has demonstrated leadership as the Future National Resource Leaders Vice President, and through a coveted internship at Mercy Flights in the EMT Explorer Program. Dex completed fire school in 2023 and earned the Oregon and National Wildfire Certifications to fight fire. Dex will study paramedicine at Rogue Community College and intends to serve their local community as Wildland Firefighters’ Head Medic.

Anabelle Jukkala, Franklin High School — Portland, is an honors student who has demonstrated leadership as a Passion Impact Volunteer Event Program Committee Leader, Passion Impact Student Advisory Board Founder, President of Franklin High School’s Red Cross Club, and Co-Captain and Creative Director for her school’s Advanced Dance Performance Class. Anabelle has a passion for student mental health in her local community and will attend University of Oregon to study social work with a focus in counseling.

Natalie Lomeli, Riverside Junior-Senior High School — Boardman, is varsity athlete who has demonstrated leadership as her school’s Key Club President, National Honor Society Treasurer, Student Body President, and Future Business Leaders of America Vice President. Natalie was selected as one of only a few interns to participate in the Morrow County Internship Program with the Columbia Health Facility. As a bilingual first-generation college student, Natalie will attend Western Oregon University to study nursing and intends to serve her local community as a nurse midwife.

In addition to the scholarship, each recipient will have mentors throughout and following their schooling to help guide their path to a successful career and future.

Mentors include:

Chris Brown – Couture of Music, Acclaimed musician and educator

Josh Frankel – Principal + CFP, Ferguson Wellman Capital Management

Katie Hull – Public Relations, Wieden + Kennedy Alum

Ric Jeffries – Co-Owner and Golf Professional, RiverRidge Golf Complex

Katherine Kilkenny – PMHNP-BC, Portland Mental Health & Wellness

Karl Logan – Area Senior Director, Portland Public Schools

David Millman – Managing Director, Domaine Drouhin Oregon

Kimiko Matsudo – Director of Culture, Rose & Lincoln Founder/Owner

Justice Adrienne Nelson – Oregon Supreme Court Justice

Olivia Ong – Manufacturing Operations Manager, Intel

Jeff Paustian – Chief Executive Officer, JGP Wealth Management

Janae Sorenson – VP, Account Executive, Parker, Smith + Feek

About the Harrington Family Foundation

Established in 2002 by former NFL quarterback, Joey Harrington, the Harrington Family Foundation (HFF) has raised more than $2M for students across Oregon. Born and raised in Oregon, Joey believes investing in Oregon students dedicated to pursuing higher education ultimately invests in the state of Oregon. He recognizes leaders do not only exist on the athletic field or in front of a television camera. The Oregon Community Leadership Scholarship program is designed to encourage students who have shown a take-charge ability in their communities but may need help reaching their potential. For more information, visit www.harringtonfamilyfoundation.org.