PORTLAND, Ore. — The Harrington Family Foundation (HFF) recently announced the recipients of its sixth annual Oregon Community Leadership Scholarship. Four Oregon high school students were selected from 205 applicants to receive a four-year renewable scholarship for $4,000 to attend an in-state university, college or trade school. The scholarship totals $16,000 per student.

“In our sixth year of the scholarship we now have two graduating classes of students, and it’s been a joy to watch the program grow – we’ve quite literally outgrown the event space where we host our Annual Scholarship Dinner each spring. I’m continually blown away by the caliber of student leaders who apply to the program, and honored they have joined our scholarship family,” said Joey Harrington, founder of the Harrington Family Foundation, former NFL quarterback and current KGW-TV special reporter.

This need-based scholarship focuses on an individual’s involvement in his or her community, rather than academic or athletic performance.

The Oregon Community Leadership Scholarship recipients are:

Rosie Crawford, Lincoln High School – Beavercreek, is an honors student with entrepreneurial and philanthropic vision who founded Outstanding Writers Without Limits (OWL), a registered 501(c)(3) nonprofit that holds creative writing classes after school for elementary students. With a passion for science Rosie served as an OMSI Teen Science Alliance Member Volunteer, and Schools Uniting Neighborhoods (SUN) Instructor to elementary school students. Rosie will study engineering and physics at Willamette University.

Martha Elena Juarez Arellano – Woodburn, is a bi-lingual student leader and competitive dancer who balanced a rigorous academic load while helping to support her family. With a passion for business and her local community Martha Elena served on WAAST Link Crew and as a Woodburn School District Recreational Leader. She will study business administration at the University of Oregon.

Emma Matthews, Philomath High School – Philomath, is an honors student athlete with a heart for volunteerism. Emma has served her community as Associated Student Body Vice President, National Honor Society Secretary, volunteer Youth Basketball Coach, and as a junior high school student represented The Foundation for Rural Service in Washington D.C. to advocate for the needs of Oregon’s rural communities. Emma will study mathematics at Oregon State University Honors College.

Ajalae Weiser-Lilly, Menlo Station High School – Portland, is a student leader who accomplished a full load of college courses at Portland Community College while completing her senior year of high school. Ajalae is a Community Spirit Award recipient who has demonstrated leadership by founding her school’s first newspaper, hiking club, and book club, and advocated for her student body by reinstituting the Principal Advisory Board. Ajalae will study education at the University of Oregon.

In addition to the scholarship, each recipient will have mentors throughout and following their schooling to help guide their path to a successful career and future.

Mentors include:

  • Tinker Hatfield – Vice President of Design and Special Projects, Nike
  • Kurt Huffman – Owner, ChefStable Restaurant Group
  • Ric Jeffries – Co-Owner and Golf Professional, RiverRidge Golf Complex
  • David Millman – Managing Director, Domaine Drouhin Oregon
  • Justice Adrienne Nelson – Oregon Supreme Court Justice
  • Olivia Ong   Manufacturing Operations Manager, Intel
  • Jeff Paustian – CEO, JGP Wealth Management Group
  • Janae Sorenson   VP, Account Executive, Parker, Smith + Feek
  • Randy Stegmeier – Principal, Firm 151
  • Joanne Warner – Dean, University of Portland School of Nursing

The Oregon Community Leadership Scholarship program was created by Joey Harrington and the Foundation in 2014 as a way to recognize Oregon high school students who exemplify outstanding leadership skills but may need financial and mentorship support to reach their goals. The Scholarship Advisory Committee selects scholarship recipients based on community leadership, financial need and “something special.” The 2020 scholarship program application is available at: www.harringtonfamilyfoundation.slideroom.com and the deadline is March 6, 2020.

Since its inception in 2002, the Harrington Family Foundation has donated more than $2 million to Oregon nonprofits that support education for in-state youth. For more information about the Oregon Community Leadership Scholarship program, visit www.harringtonfamilyfoundation.org.

About the Harrington Family Foundation

Established in 2002 by former NFL quarterback, Joey Harrington, the Harrington Family Foundation (HFF) has raised $2 million for students across Oregon. The foundation raises funds for the scholarship program by hosting the Safeway Foundation Battle at Bandon, The Umpqua Bank Chef Off, and Huddle Up for Oregon Students. Born and raised in Oregon, Joey believes investing in Oregon students dedicated to pursuing higher education ultimately invests in the state of Oregon. He recognizes leaders do not only exist on the athletic field or in front of a television camera. The Oregon Community Leadership Scholarship program is designed to encourage students who have shown a take-charge ability in their communities, but may need help reaching their potential. The Foundation is located at 1816 NW Overton in the Pearl District. For more information, visit www.harringtonfamilyfoundation.org